Cambridge incumbent aims to retain seat under new party but faces 4 challengers

Voters in Cambridge and across the province head to the polls Thursday in the Ontario election.

Polling stations are open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.

People on the voters list should have received a voter information card in the mail.

For people who have not received a voter information card, the The Elections Ontario website lists polling places by postal code. This information can also be obtained by calling 1-888-668-8683.

People without a voter information card who register to vote at the polling station will need identification. It does not need to contain a photo, but it must show the person’s name and current residential address. It could be (but is not limited to):

  • A pay stub.
  • Electricity bill.
  • Credit card statement.
  • Band membership card.
  • Blood donor card.

5 candidates

There are five candidates in the riding of Cambridge in this provincial election. They are, in alphabetical order:

  • Carla Johnson, Green Party of Ontario.
  • Belinda Karahalios, Ontario New Blue Party.
  • Marjorie Knight, New Democratic Party of Ontario.
  • Brian Riddell, Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario.
  • Surekha Shenoy, Ontario Liberal Party.

Karahalios is the starter at Cambridge.

Political analysts said Cambridge is a race to watch in this election because although Karahalios is the incumbent in the constituency and incumbents tend to have an advantage, she is heading into this provincial election as a member of a newly formed party. New parties may have difficulty obtaining votes.

Riding history

In 2018, Karahalios was elected to the provincial legislature as a member of the Progressive Conservatives. She was removed from the PC caucus in July 2020 after voting against Bill 195, a government motion to extend certain COVID-19 emergency orders by one month at a time for up to two years without consulting the legislature.

Cambridge has been a constituency since 1975. The area’s first MPP was NDP member Montgomery ‘Monty’ Davidson, who served until 1981.

The riding of Cambridge appears on this map from Elections Ontario. (Elections Ontario)

William “Bill” Barlow, a Progressive Conservative, served the riding from 1981 to 1987. He was followed by New Democratic Party member Mike Farnan, who served as the riding’s MPP from 1987 to 1995.

The constituency went to the Progressive Conservatives from 1995 to 2014. Gerry Martiniuk served as MPP until 2011 and Rob Leone served as MPP until 2014.

In 2014, Liberal Kathryn McGarry won the seat and held it for one term. McGarry is currently mayor of Cambridge.

Find out more about CBC KW’s coverage of Cambridge: